Journey of an absolute rookie

March 23, 2010

About a year ago, I stumble on to a post at conceptart.org, it wasn’t anything out of the ordinary, just another guy starting a “learning” thread on the forum. I scrolled down a little and I saw this –

Hm. It’s a rookie alright. But what’s this? 40 pages in this thread?!

A couple pages later I see this-

Definitely a an improvement, but still, a long way to go. I decided to skip to the later pages and now he’s doing this-

Holy shit! I went back and read through all 40+ pages of the thread, then I realized, this guy has been drawing every single day in his quest to be an artist. Every single day without fail for two years before he got halfway decent. And now he’s running his own atelier for artists. That’s amazing! and inspiring! I can’t draw, and I know how it is to spend hours on a drawing and still have it look like crap. I’m posting this up to inspire myself and others, because dammit, if he can do it, anyone can.

Leave a Reply

