Henry Selick joins Disney!

April 3, 2010

I had to read this twice to make sure I read it right,

The “Coraline” director, who began his animation career at Disney in the late ’70s, has struck an exclusive long-term deal to make stop-motion features for Disney/Pixar.

Disney Animation topper John Lasseter’s decision to bring Selick into the Disney/Pixar fold is another boost for the painstaking hand-crafted technique, while representing expansion beyond strictly computer-animated fare for the company.

I love Coraline, and stop motion has always been something special to me, I’ll totally animate in Stop-motion instead 3D if I could. Which kid didn’t play with their toyswishing they could all come to life?

But I digress, having Selick join Disney/Pixar to make stop-motion films is mind-blowing awesome!

Leave a Reply

