Tangled

July 29, 2010

Tangled is looking to be a pretty damn good movie, what isn’t so pretty is what’s happening to the artists working on it.

“We’re near the end of the seven-day workweeks. We’ve been really kicking it for the last six months, but I’m on my last shot …”

“I got my notice of layoff. I’m out of here in August. I don’t know, maybe it’s time to move on. It’s like Kubler Ross’s five stages of grief, only without the denial since we all knew the layoffs were coming…”

“What everybody around here knows is that this [Tangled] is a really good movie. We’ve all worked our butts off and we’re proud of what we’ve done.”

“I just don’t get why there’s been so little stuff in development, why there are such big gaps in the pipeline. You’d think they’d want to keep more of a talented group of animators, layout artsts and tech directors around. Not a high priority for them, I guess.”

You know the economy is bad when Disney is laying off people before the show even hit the screen. But then, all in a day’s work in this industry I guess.

3 Responses to “Tangled”

  1. malconpierce Says:

    I have to say that it’s not the directors or supervisors fault that there had to be some Layoffs. Unfortunately a lot of jobs in this industry depend on the amount of work that needs to be done. This is the nature of the beast. I wouldn’t go as far to suggest that we are treated badly, not appreciated, or even that we are all miserable working on this project. We’re doing what we love. I feel I can speak for the department when I say that we feel very fortunate to have the opportunity to work on this film. We have all fallen in love with these characters and Its tough moving on to another project, or studio, But all in all I don’t think any of us would trade this experience for anything. As far as workloads are concerned, We animated this film in just about 6 months, with around 50 animators. Of course the hours will be long in the home stretch, but I’ve been in much rougher situations schedule wise, for a much longer period of time So I don’t want people to think like we feel like work Mules or anything like that. Also keep in mind, a lot of people hired to animate on the film were in a run of show contract just for the film. Anyway I don’t want people to get the wrong impression of how we feel.

    • maligor Says:

      Hey Malcon, thanks for chiming in! I don’t mean to suggest that anyone is ill-treated or unappreciated. It’s true nearly our whole industry is work for hire, the economic climate demands it. I just wish it wasn’t so. It’s such a pity to not have projects lined-up when you already have a large crew of talented people on-site.

      But regardless! I’m really excited to see how Tangled turns out, everything released looks incredible so far, and I don’t think I’ve seen anyone say otherwise.

  2. malconpierce Says:

    Thanks! Yeah its exciting to hear so many positive things from other people in the industry! I hope it does well also. And your right, it is a shame. Its not so much (in Disney’s case) that there are no projects lined up, just the amount of time between the projects, that’s the hard part. Thanks again for the comments, they are much appreciated! Talk to you soon!
    -Malcon


Leave a Reply

