Jay Grace interview by Wired

May 2, 2012

Jay Grace is the Supervising Animator on Aardman/Sony’s THE PIRATES! BAND OF MISFITS.

Wired has a short interview with him where they discusses his influences and the future of stop-motion features.

GeekDad: What led you to want to be an animator?

Grace: As a kid, I loved drawing and all things animation. I was a huge fan of Tom and JerryLooney Tunes, and Hanna Barbera and was always excited when a new Disney movie came out. I think it was really Star Wars that got me interested in stop-motion. I remember as a six-year-old boy, dragging my not so keen grandmother along to see it and being absolutely mesmerised by the special effects which were way beyond anything else I’d seen before and even at that age I really wanted to know how it was done. By the time Empire and Jedi came out there were some really great making of documentaries on TV which introduced me to the work of Phil Tippett and his contemporaries .

source

Leave a Reply

